Business Projects, Social Anxiety Buddies, Religious Philosophy, and Ghost Stories

So I had sales class today.  In this class, one of our major semester projects is that we have to pretend to “sell” a product to a professional salesperson in April.  We’re doing the project in pieces, and we have to choose what we’re selling now.  I’ve decided I’m going to try to sell books – but it has to be a specific book, not just any book, because I only have fifteen minutes to “make the sale.”  I’m going to have to choose one from my countless stacks of books.

So I have three business projects: analyzing Rue 21’s and Hot Topic’s business strategies as competitors, shadowing a salesperson over spring break, and selling a product to a professional salesperson.  

One thing I think it’s important to keep in mind in business is that there is “ethical business” and “unethical business.”  College professors find it very important to make that distinction.  Selling someone crap and then never getting back to them?  Deceiving someone into buying something?  Doing practices harmful to society or the environment?  Unethical business.  Not good.

After class, though, I had lunch with a friend.

We met in sales class at the beginning of semester.  The teacher assigned us to fan out with candy bars in hand, and we had to sell one to a random stranger on campus by the end of the period.  My social anxiety kicked in, and I was sitting outside the classroom trying to breathe, and another girl sat down next to me looking equally distressed.  It turned out?  She had social anxiety, too.

We ended up going to lunch together, and we’ve been friends ever since.  I meet most of my friends in the most random ways.  Another friend, I met through a class she was taking on an extracurricular level.  I went around asking people if I could hitch a ride for a book reading we had to go to for that particular English class, and she agreed to ask her husband if he could drive both of us.

Anyway, me and this friend, we we discussed the wonders of leggings like real goddamn twenty first century women.  Then we talked about existential philosophy before moving on into spooky ghost stories.  We both agreed that it’s possible to believe science is a way of looking into the mechanics behind real religious experiences, and we both also agreed that all peaceful religions are different ways of reaching the same general presence, essence, or energy around us.

But the ghost stories were fun.  She lives in a drafty ancient old house, so she had way more ghost stories than I did, but I did tell her about one experience me and my family had while looking for a new house.

So, we were told that this home was abandoned.  Somebody had started to renovate it, but then their payments to the bank had just stopped coming.  Finally, someone from the bank went way out to the woods, to this big lonely old house, and found it half-renovated with no one in it.  He said it had apparently been abandoned months ago.  The person renovating it had completely disappeared.

So we thought, whatever, maybe he couldn’t afford to pay and he walked.  That happens.  We went out to see the house…  And it was such a creepy experience.

Each house in the room was painted a different primary color.  There were steps where there shouldn’t be, and no steps where there should be.  Doors led to nothing.  And in the basement?  We found a splash of old, dried blood.

I said flatly that there was no way I was living in this house, and it was taken off our list.

I love ghost stories.  They’re so creepy and fun and cool and fascinating.  Urban exploration videos are really interesting, too.

Anyway, eventually me and my friend had to part ways, but it was a nice brunch before I headed home on the bus.

Leave a Reply

