The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Saturday Movie Night)

Saturday night movie night to celebrate a three-day weekend!

We watched The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, because apparently I have lately had a thing for adaptations of original works that I have not actually seen.  It was a genuinely solid movie in its own right – for what must have been a big fucking book, they managed to fit all the important stuff in there and keep it fast paced and cohesive.

I must admit, by the end my sister and I were huddled up on the couch together with a blanket through all the creepy parts.  I had to skip over a couple of the more graphic sexual abuse scenes.  It happens and it’s horrible, but that doesn’t mean I have to watch it in a movie.

(WARNING: DO NOT WATCH IF YOU’RE NOT OKAY WITH VIEWING VIOLENCE, NUDITY, SEX, MURDER, AND ABUSE.)

Lisbeth was fucking awesome (I love the punk aesthetic almost as much as I love the creepy witch aesthetic, and she was a total goddamn badass on top of that) and it was a wild, thriller, creepy, border-line horror movie.  With a nice dash of eerie murder mystery thrown in.

So, all in all, a good night.

Leave a Reply

