Flames

I just got a flame on one of my online artworks. The person involved told me my head is “fucked” and implied there’s something wrong with me.

Because apparently it’s “fucked” to write a story about a teenager dealing with issues of grief and sexuality, but it’s NOT “fucked” to leave weird, passive aggressive, personal comments on somebody’s story on behalf of an imaginary fictional character.

Needless to say, I blocked and reported the person. I didn’t even bother replying. I don’t see where it would have gotten me.

I’m not really angry. I’m almost amused. Can you imagine if my life was that sad? That I had to insult somebody and their story on behalf of an imaginary fictional character just to feel true joy?

Someone pointed out that they may have targeted my mental state to do as much damage as possible, because I’m so open about dealing with mental illness on all my social media accounts even to the point of joking about it. If that’s the case, it backfired spectacularly. I’m not sure if you’re supposed to want to laugh out loud when someone’s flaming you.

Dealing with the public is so fucking weird.

Leave a Reply

